WSOTM volume 9

01. ABOARD SAILOR! (DEMO)
by Jeroen S. Rozendaal. Taken from a huge pile of demoes originally intended to be played by
Room 101. Spontaneous recording. Half way the song everything falls apart, the sync of the
samples as well as the lyrics, which explains the sudden fade-out.

02. LIGHTPHENOMENA
by Jeroen S. Rozendaal. My respect goes out to them dreaming hobbyists. And I hope one day
they will prove us to be wrong. As long as you are no hippy, dream on.

03. THE GREY HEART
by Hidde van Schie I was very pleased to receive this new track. I like the distorted ‘mouse on mars’
type sounds he added here. More edge. Try to get his full length debut ‘Lungs full of mist’ if you can!

04. SHARKS WHO SEEM TO SLEEP IN CAVES
by de Vogels. Or actually titled ‘Haaien die in grotten schijnen te slapen’. An improvisation recorded
in the new birdhouse after trying to play a real song for a million times. And what a relief.
Free your jazz, vogels!

05. THIS IS HELENA
by Nwaaze. This was the early noise outfit of Rufus.K (alias De Vogel) and other Vogels. The recording
was taken from their first (and only) demo tape ‘Mi sabi seker!’. It’s a cover version of the Orchestral
Manouvres in the Dark song with the same title. Didn’t saw that one coming, did ya?

06. BALANCE (DEMO)
by Vinnie & Rev. The OMD vibe triggered some electronics here. That’s why. Foewakki and Rev
recording demoes for their new and trippy band that has no name yet. Any suggestions? Do not email me
names like ‘The Suckers’ or something, you jokers. This is just a demotape.

07. BAD PHOTON BOY (HEROIC THEME)
by Holland Electric. Piano, vibes, guitars, and a buzzerbox. I like it. It feels good.

08. PERFORMANCE 0/1
by Room 101. I still want to do a special on Room 101, but I do not seem to find the time. Here is one
of my favourites from the ‘Play Domhjot, Human?’ album. Still available. Mail me if you want one.

09. DRUMS AND ASS TEST
by Holland Electric. Does anyone recognize this? I like to watch spinning records during certain
songs. The needle proceeding. Grooves foretelling the loud and the silent bits, revealing the beat.
But I have never made a vinyl album in my life 😦

10. THROUGH MY BODY TO HIM
by Michael Jackson, erhm…Surgical Cripple. More noise overkill. I used to record this stuff as a
teenager. Live, sort of, in my bedroom, when I lived with my parents.
They must have had a rough time housing me.

11. GOSSAMER ESCUTCHEON
by Harry Merry. Just to lighten up things. I cannot express enough appreciation for Harry and his music.
This guy is unique. Irwin Chusid… pay attention for god’s sake!

12. CONTAINER
by Jeroen S. Rozendaal. This recording was made for the darkroom installation during the 2003 GDMW
festival in Rotterdam. This is a stereo version of the original quadrophonic master. Container was written
by Dennis Cooper, translated by Erik Brus, and read by Joop Keesmaat of the ROtheatre.

[download archive]

Leave a Reply

